La référence des professionnels
des communications et du design

Créativité Montréal's night of nights

Cliquez ici pour voir toutes les photos

More than 400 people gathered last Thursday, November 1 at Locoshop Angus for the second annual Créativité Montréal - Business Design Awards Gala.

The space, very different from last year's location (the lobby of the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec in Montréal), was transformed for the occasion by Moment Factory. Various lighting and visual effects took place throughout the course of the gala, which was organized by Lulu et Castagnette.

Sensorial marketing agency Mood Media, also a partner in the event, oversaw the installation of an olfactory bar. Guests were invited to experiment with sound and smell associations while being guided and counselled by agency representatives.

Many industry players joined Sylvie Berkowicz, editor-in-chief of Créativité Montréal and the evening's master of ceremonies, in presenting the winners with their trophy, designed again this year by Claude Mauffette.

They were followed by Marie-Josée Lacroix, design commissioner for the City of Montréal and director of Design Montréal; Annie Mailloux, vice-president of sales for Mood Media; Jessica Rivière, director of sales for Index-Design; Jean-Claude Calabro, president of Lumigroup; and Nelda Rodger, editor of Azure magazine.

Rodger was also one of the five members of the jury, which included Bruno Braën, designer and 2006 Grand Prize winner; Georges Labrecque, director of exposition projects for Uqam's Centre de design; Gilles Saucier, architect with Saucier + Perrotte; and James Hyndman, actor.

During the course of the evening, two spectators became lucky new owners of Tolomeo lamps from Artemide, donated by Lumigroup. All guests were given the Créativité Montréal magazine, which features all finalists and award-winning projects, and the November issue of Azure.

In all, 11 awards and one special jury prize were awarded during the course of the evening, which was both a festive and relaxed affair. Click here to see the list of winners.

Translation by Jennifer Edwards